Muslim Twitter once again broke out into argument, this time the argument was not centred around marriage or mahr but the McDonald’s Filet-o-Fish. The argument broke out on Wednesday morning in the UK this month after a tweet by @shloerma was shared, the tweets were directed to the Muslim community and stated “yeah you Mozlems can’t have McDonald’s anymore”. Understandably there is upset, confusion and anger about this revelation, whilst many are unbothered. Some have approached McDonald’s directly for answers while others have taken time to study the ingredients list. Whatever the fate of the McDonald’s Filet-o-Fish, the much loved burger has caused a commotion.
Amaliah called the McDonald’s helpline 0370 524 4622 and this is how the conversation went.
Helpline staff: Hi Mcdonalds ***** here, how can I help?
Amaliah staff: Hi ***** I’m well, just a quick question. Is the fish-o-fillet halal?
Helpline staff: Yes, it is.
Amaliah staff: Ok, great, oh before I go, are the chips?
Helpline staff: Let me check…….so they aren’t halal certified due to possibly cross contamination. It’s the oil.
Amaliah staff: Oh, ok, so is the fish-o-fillet halal certified?
Helpline staff: No from what I can see but I do know a lot of people who don’t eat you know, they choose it. You can also check the allergen list if that helps.
Amaliah staff: Ah, ok, great. Thanks. Take care.
Helpline staff: Have a lovely day.
We were told that the Filet-o-Fish is not halal certified and neither are the chips.
yeah you Mozlems can’t have McDonalds anymore. pic.twitter.com/ZDsACKptFW
— ruq (@shloerma) September 11, 2018
View this post on Instagram
The Filet o' Fish as an iconic symbol of the Muslim experience is also really important to us! This great illustration is by a man of many talents, Rui Da Silva. 🍔🍟 ✨ On Monday 3 July, the Khidr Collective team will be at #Stratford Station asking *you* what tools young #Muslims need to develop, build and sustain our communities. ✨ We invite anyone who wants to get involved with the collective to come and say hello. Or let us know if you have ideas for a future project you'd like to do or an idea for the next issue of Khidr Zine. We'll also be selling physical tickets to the zine launch party on 7 July. ✨ Drop by to see us and stay for tea & waffles at Wafflemeister in Westfield at 8pm! 💫☕️# 🐠
A post shared by Khidr Collective (@khidrcollective) on
— Zbigniew EG (@EG_Zbigniew) September 13, 2018
That post about the fillet o fish not being halal has shook alot of people so in 30 seconds of looking I found the recipe for the tartar sauce and look NO ALCOHOL STOP SPREADING UNNECESSARY FEAR AND CONFUSION pic.twitter.com/YxUsNaTGbT
— mariam (@elghwl) September 12, 2018
Fillet o Fish will always be halal to me and the McDonalds website is not a reliable source of fiqh in my opinion so inshallah khayr stop asking so many questions
— Ruqaiya (@ruqaiya_h) September 12, 2018
confused about the tweet that says filet-o-fish sauce is suitable for vegetarians but is not halal
1. why would a vegetarian even eat a fillet-o-fish to begin with
2. how can a sauce that’s suitable for vegetarians not be suitable for halalitarians
— bagel (@BagelSmalls) September 12, 2018
OIII APPARENTLY FILLET-O-FISH IS NOT HALAL?????????
— Young Lahmacun (@Cxyhung) September 11, 2018
That Post Going Around About Fish O Fillet Isn't Something Reliable, In Terms Of How Can We Be Taking Rulings Of Halal & Haram From The Kuffar? I'm Not Saying The Burger Is Halal Or Not, But It Needs Looking At From A Person Of Islamic Knowledge, Not Jamie From McDonalds LOL
— IAMSTRIDEZ (@iamstridez) September 12, 2018
To anyone whose feeling sad today lemme make it worse TARTAR SAUCE ON MACCIES FISH O FILLET APPARENTLY IS HARAM LOL XXXXX
— princess🦄 (@_rxyxx) September 12, 2018
sTOP TALKING ABT FILLET O FISH PLS I WANT ONE SO BAD NOW
— 🐬 lala a dolfin 🐬 (@wndrsnertle) September 12, 2018
Glad I had my last fillet o fish on Monday 😭😢
— sh 🐝 (@beess___) September 12, 2018
Finding out Fillet O Fish isn’t halal https://t.co/7eAKGIVdeN
— Asad (@asad_abdullah20) September 12, 2018
If you hate fillet o fish you're islamophobic
— skylar montgomery (@nglsaraa) September 12, 2018
Why is Muslim twitter having ww3 over fillet o fish bmt u lot r a joke
— khudafiz (@Afghanpataka) September 12, 2018
Why is Muslim twitter beefing on wether fillet o fish is halal or not ?? FAMMMMM it's fish ! It's HALALL
— rehmaxo (@Rehmaxox1) September 12, 2018
😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂 the amount of brothers who comfortably ate fillet o fish and judged others. Karma is a real bitch https://t.co/01m9ZyQ42s
— IG: _postmanpacz._ (@SkinnyLDN) September 12, 2018
We are unable to verify the permissibility of the above item. Thank you.